[Recipe] Seared Tuna

So a we got a couple of vacuum-sealed fresh tuna steaks a few weeks back. We ate one as sashimi but kept a bit too long in the freezer, so it wouldn’t be too good if we ate it as sashimi again.

I decided to sear it a bit while leaving the inside still rare — so like a medium-rare fish steak.

Once properly thawed, I coated both sides of the steak with salt, pepper and cayenne pepper.

I heated up some oil, just enough to coat the pan for the fish not to stick and seared the tuna, 30 seconds on both sides.

I let it rest a bit before cutting it up.

It came out quite flavorful and cooked just right with enough pink meat at the center. I whipped – like literally whipped – up a quick mustard cream sauce using ingredients I found inside the ref.

What I used:

  • Sashimi-grade tuna steaks
  • Salt (rock salt from the beaches of the Bali)
  • Pepper
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Sauce:
    • All-purpose cream
    • Japanese mayonnaise (The one with Kewpie)
    • Dijon mustard
    • White sugar
Seared Tuna
And the plating? I tried!
Leave a Reply

